Board of Directors

GOPAC is governed by a Board of Directors made up of members of each regional chapter. Fully organized regional chapters are entitled to three members on the Board. Regional chapters in the process of being established are entitled to one member on the Board. Below are the members of GOPAC’s 7th Board of Directors.


Executive Committee

H.E. Ahmad bin Abdulla Bin Zaid Al Mahmoud, Qatar

H.E. Ahmad bin Abdulla Bin Zaid Al Mahmoud is the Speaker of Shura Council State of Qatar since 2017. He was the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs from 2011-2017 and during that time he devoted much of his work to promote peace as well by leading the Follow up Committee on Implementation of the Doha Document for Peace in Darfur. He has extensive experience under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs from Third Secretary in 1976 into the top career path in the ministry as a Minister of State for Foreign Affairs (1995). He received Knight Grand Cross Medal from the President of the Italian Republic in 2007 and a First Class Order of the Republic from the Sudanese President in 2011.


Hon, Dr Fadli Zon,

Dr. Fadli Zon is a Chairperson of the Committee for Inter-Parliamentary Cooperation of the Indonesian House of Representative for the 2019- 2024 period, as well as a member of the Committee on Defense, Foreign Affairs and Information. He started his political career in the Parliament as a member of the Indonesian People’s Consultative Assembly (MPR RI) for the 1997–1999 period. Previously, he was elected as Deputy Speaker of Indonesia Parliament in 2014.  Dr. Zon serve as  Vice Chair of the Gerindra Supreme Leadership Council since 2008. Dr. Zon is also currently serving as the Chair of  the Southeast Asian Parliamentarians Against Corruption (SEAPAC) and Vice President of The League of Parliamentarians for Al Quds. Dr. Zon has authored several books including Fadli: Critical Notes from Senayan (2019); Strengthening The Indonesian Parliamentary Diplomacy (2019); Mohammad Hatta’s Thought on People’s Economy: the Road to Indonesia’s Political Prosperity (2016); The IMF Game: The Role of the IMF in Bringing down the Soeharto Regime (2004); and The Politics of May Riot 1998 (Solstice, 2004). He holds a bachelor’s degree in Russian Studies from the University of Indonesia, a master’s degree in Development Studies from the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) in United Kingdom, and a doctoral degree in History of Economic Thought from the University of Indonesia


Dr Carlos Alberto Pérez Cuevas,

Dr. Carlos Alberto Pérez Cuevas, is a Mexican lawyer and politician born in Nezahualcoyotl, State of Mexico in 1974. He has been a Councillor in his hometown, local representative and President of the Congress of his state; Federal Congressman, where he was leader of his party, with 144 federal legislators of the National Action Party (PAN). He served as Coordinator of the 32 local PAN benches in Mexico. He was President of the Miguel Estrada Iturbide Foundation and Member of the Board of the Rafael Preciado Hernández Foundation. He is an academic with a Ph.D. in Constitutional Law from the Universidad Panamericana, a human rights expert and columnist for various publications. He is the National Director of the National Action Party, Member of the Network on Ethics Policy Action (RAEP) and Chairman of GOPAC Mexico.


H.E. Justin Muturi, Kenya


Mr. John Hyde,

John Hyde was the Member for Perth in the West Australian Parliament from 2001 to 2013. He is the Chair of GOPAC Oceania and was the founding Chair of GOPAC Australia. He was the Chair or Deputy Chair of the West Australian Parliament’s oversight committee on the Corruption and Crime Commission and its predecessors. As Parliamentary Secretary to the previous Attorney-General he was also involved in the drafting of legislation and changes to establish WA’s modern Corruption and Crime Commission.


Mrs. Mary King,
Trinidad and Tobago

Mary King is a founding member of GOPAC and was elected Secretary of GOPAC’s Board of Directors in 2008. Before joining the executive committee of the GOPAC Board of Directors, Mrs. King was the head of the Trinidad and Tobago chapter of Transparency International. In addition to her work with GOPAC, Mrs. King is a former Senator and Minister of Planning, Economic and Social Restructuring and Gender Affairs and served as an Independent Senator from 2000 – 2007. She also served on a number of Parliamentary Committees including the Public Accounts (Enterprises) Committee, and chaired one of the oversight Committees, the Joint Select Committee – Government Ministries, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises – Part II. She is currently the chairman of Mary King & Associates Ltd., a marketing research and business consulting company.


Dr Naser Al
Sane, Kuwait

Dr. Naser Al Sane has been a member of GOPAC since 2002 and was Chair from 2008 to 2013. He is also the Vice-Chairman of International Forum for Islamic Politics headquartered at Jakarta – Indonesia; the Chairman of Synergy Corporation Consultancy Company, a prominent Management Consultancy company in Kuwait; and an Assistant Professor of Business at the Kuwait College for Business. Formerly, Dr Al Sane was a member of the Kuwaiti Parliament. He decided not to run in 2009 after serving his constituents for 17 years. During his tenure as a member of Parliament, he chaired several parliamentary committees: Financial and Economic Committee, Budget Committee, Public Funds Protection Committee, Human Rights Committee, Employment and Administrative Development Committee as well as the Foreign Affairs Committee. Dr Al Sane holds a BSc from Kuwait University, a MBA from New Haven University in USA and a Ph.D. in Organizational Development from Aston University, UK.


Hon. Fatima Kohestani
, Afghanistan

Fatima Kohestani is a new Member of Afghanistan’s Parliament (Lower House) from Ghor Province in Afghanistan and she received 5300 votes in the Parliamentarian Election of 2018. She had completed her Bachelor degree in Law and Political Science on 2009 and her Master in Human Rights and Global Ethics from the university of Leicester in UK on 2017. Since January 2011 to mid 2015,She had been working as Legal officer/ trainer in the European Union Police Mission in Afghanistan (EUPOL); since mid 2015 to mid 2016, she worked as Human rights consultant for UNAMA; then as Legal Consultant for UNFPA and UNDP; and before joining Parliament she worked as Gender Specialist for one and half year for UNDP in Afghanistan.

Board Members

Hon. Datuk Haji Hasanuddin bin Mohd Yunus, Malaysia

Datuk Haji Hasanuddin bin Mohd Yunus is a Malaysia Member of Parliament since 2018. He holds Master Degree in Counseling from University of Technology, Malaysia & Bachelor of Art in Arabic Language & Islamic Law from Jordan University, Amman. He is the Vice President of National Trust Party (Parti Amanah Negara) & Member of Public Accounts Committee, a standing Committee of the Parliament of Malaysia.


Sen. Consolee Uwimana, Rwanda


Hon. Emmanuel K. Bedzrah, Ghana

Emmanuel K. Bedzrah is Chair of APNAC (African Parliamentarians Network against Corruption) Ghana Chapter and Board Member of APNAC representing West Africa region. He is a member of Parliament representing Ho West Constituency, Volta Region in Ghana since 2009 to date. This is his third term to be elected in the parliament. He is also the chairman of Ghana-US Parliamentary Association. (Substitute member with Hon. Adji Ahmadou, Cameroon)


Hon. Melchor Herrera Espinoza, Panama

Mr. Miguel Ãngel Moreta, Ecuador

Mr. Ahmad Sebai, Morocco

Hon. Lord Fusitu’a, Tonga

Hon. Lemi Taefu, Samoa


Audit Committee

Hon. Shakel Shabbir, Kenya

Mr. Fernando Pérez Noriega, Mexico

Dr. Nurhayati Ali Assegaf, Indonesia